Connect with us


NUP Bigwigs Dropped as Elections Committee Moves to Reevaluate Candidates in 18 Constituencies



The National Unity Platform Elections Management Committee (NUP-EMC) in the Central and Greater Masaka region will evaluate candidates in 18 Constituencies.

According to the final list of the party Parliamentary flag bearers that was released by the Committee, 18 positions; four (4) in Kampala, three (3) in Lwengo, two (2) in Wakiso, two (2) in Mubende, one in Kalangala, Kyankwanzi, Lyantonde, Masaka, Nakaseke, and Rakai are still vacant.

In Kampala, the positions according to the list are; Kawempe South, Kawempe North, Rubaga North and Makindye West.

The major competition in Kawempe South is between Lord Councillor Muhammad Ssegirinya and the president of the Uganda journalists Association, Al hajji Kazibwe Bashir Mbazira.

Ssegirinya threatened to stand as an independent if he is not given the party ticket, according to inside sources.

In Lwengo, NUP-EMC shall reevaluate candidates in three Constituencies of Bukoto Mid-West, Bukoto West and Bukoto East.

Also, Makindye Sabagabo and Busiro East constituencies did not get the candidates in Wakiso district, according to the list.

NRM’s Theodore Ssekikubo in Lwemiyaga County, Sembabule District has no competitor from NUP yet.

Other blank positions are; MP Buwekula North and Kasambya Counties in Mubende district, Woman MP Rakai, Woman MP Lyantonde, Woman MP Masaka district, MP Bujumba County in Kalangala district and MP Ntwetwe County in Kyankwanzi district.

Meanwhile, some of NUP bigwigs were dropped by the Committee during the flag handover.

NUP president Robert Kyagulanyi Ssentamu’s brother Eddy Yawe was also knocked out from the Kira municipality MP race by Jimmy Lukwago.

Yawe was last week accused of controlling the Committee in Wakiso when a section of Councilor aspirants said he tried to put in his alleged girlfriend Faith Nakanwagi, a journalist attached to Vision Group on a position of Woman’s Councillor LC 5 for Wakiso.

Nakanwagi has since been dropped by the Committee.

In Nakawa West, Joel Ssenyonyi, the party spokesperson was given the ticket defeating his tight competitor Kenneth Kakande.

Ronald Balimwezo, the current Nakawa Mayor won the ticket for MP Nakawa West.

Betty Namboze, the current MP of Mukono municipality also won the ticket for the same electoral area.

Over 85 candidates from over 26 districts, who were vetted by the Committees in different districts were declared NUP’s parliamentary flag bearers in the forthcoming 2021 general elections.

These districts include; Buikwe, Bukomasimbi, Butambala, Buvuma,Gomba, Kalangala and Kalungu.

Others are; Kampala, Kasanda, Kayunga, Kiboga, Kyotera, Kyankwanzi, Luwero, Lwengo and Lyantonde.

Candidates from Masaka, Mpigi, Mubende, Mukono, Nakaseke, Nakasongola, Rakai, Ssembabule and Wakiso also got NUP tickets.


Source –