Connect with us


NRM Primaries: Batwala Wins Jinja LCV Chairman as Kanusu Takes City Mayor 



Mr. Moses Batwala has won the National Resistance Movement party primary elections for the Jinja district LCV Chairperson beating the incumbent Titus Kisambira.

The race attracted four candidates but became a tight competition between the incumbent and Batwala, who eventually won.

According to the results declared by the Jinja district NRM election officer, Batwala garnered 75,545 which is equivalent of 51% and Kisambira polled 58,669 (40%).

Other two candidates in the race were Kato William Kaziba who got 7,861 (5%) votes and Lubaale Simon Mugote 5,082 (4%).

Meanwhile the race for Jinja City Mayor NRM flag bearer was won by the former Uganda People Congress party stalwart, Robert Kanusu, who defeated three competitors.

Mr. Kanusu garnered 8,619 votes followed by Zziwa Julius 6,041 votes. Ntuuyo Mohammed came third with 3,896 and Bidandi Jeff polled 1,778.


Source –