Connect with us


7th PSL Title for Dennis Onyango After Sundowns Victory



Uganda Cranes goalkeeper Dennis Masinde Onyango has won the 7th Premier Soccer League title in South African thanks to Mamelodi Sundowns’ triumph.

The Masandawana leapfrogged Kaizer Chiefs from the top of the table on the final day of the season with a 3-0 win against Black Leopards despite featuring without their first choice goalkeeper Onyango (injured).

Mamelodi hence finished on top of the log with 59 points from 30 games, two ahead of Kaizer Chiefs who were held to a 1-1 draw by Baroka FC.

Lebohang Maboe scored all the three goals for the Brazilians though the Pitso Mossimane coached side had missed an early penalty squandered by Richardo Nascimento.

Prior to the game, Mamelodi Sundowns were in a must win situation and had to pray for Kaizer Chiefs not to claim victory against Baroka, which all happened.

This now becomes Onyango’s Seventh league title in South Africa. He won his first three while featuring for SuperSport United from 2007/2008, 2008/2009 and 2009/2010.

At Mamelodi Sundowns, he has lifted four more titles in 2015/16, 2017/18, 2018/19 and 2019/20.

Other trophies won by the the Cranes captain are the 2016 Caf Champions League, 2017 Caf Super Cup, the Nedbank Cup in 2015 as well as the Telkom Knockout Cup in 2015.

The 2019/2020 Premier Soccer League title is however, the tenth for Mamelodi Sundowns and will represent South Africa in next season’s CAF Champions League.

Source –