Connect with us


NRM Primaries: Ex-Minister Alupo Bounces Back as Nankabirwa Retains Kiboga Flag



The former Minister of Education and Sports, Maj. Jessica Alupo has won the National Resistance Movement party primary elections for Katakwi district woman Member of Parliament.

Alupo trounced the incumbent Violet Akurut in the result declared at 1am on Saturday by the Katakwi district NRM election officer.

Maj. Alupo got 38,582 votes (46.7%) against the Akurut’s 29,435 votes representing 35.6%. The other two candidates in the same race Apuuno and Anuken got 13,760 (16.7%) and 824 (1.0%) respectively.

Alupo represented Katakwi district in Parliament in 8th and 9th Parliament consecutively and her reign was only disrupted by Akurut who defeated her in the 2016 election.

Meanwhile, in Kiboga district, Government Chief Whip, Ruth Nankabirwa easily retained the party flag as district woman MP.

Nankabirwa was declared winner by the Kiboga district NRM election officer with 22,074 which is equivalent of 64% of the total votes.

The reign of the Minister, who has been in Parliament since 1996 was threatened by the new entrant in Kiboga politics, Aisha Nakimuli who got 11,022 (35%). The third candidate Nakembo Aisha came last with with 474 votes which is 1%.

Nankabirwa has also been Minister since 1998.

Source –