Connect with us


Energy Minister Gorreti Kitutu, her Predecessor Irene Muloni Register Victories in NRM Primaries



It was all jubilations as Dr. Mary Goretti Kitutu, the current Minister of Energy and Mineral Development, massively won the NRM primary elections for the Manafwa District Woman Member of Parliament post.

Gorretti registered a landslide victory after scoring 46,851 votes, beating her counterparts with a range of over 30,000 votes.

According to the results that were released by the Manafwa District NRM Registrar, Rose Mutonyi and Annet Mungoma, who had competed with Gorretti scored 18,462 and 612 votes respectively.

In another race, the former MEMD minister, Eng. Irene Muloni won the Bulambuli District Woman Member of Parliament after she garnered 60,592 votes, beating her only counterpart and the incumbent Patience Nambozo with over 55,000 votes.

Nambozo scored 5,304 votes according to the results that were declared by the Bulambuli District NRM District Registrar.

For Bududa Woman MP, the incumbent Justine Khainza retained her flag after scooping 34,012 votes followed by Agnes Khainza, who scored 26,234.

Jane Wakikona followed with 3820 and the NTV People’s Parliament presenter, Agnes Nandutu held the last position with 2,480 votes.

Summarized results in other areas

Manjiya County (MP)

Moses Mukhobe: 13,920

Kato Matanda: 5,633

Bukigayi County

David Wakinkona: 6,160

Wilson Watira (Current LC 5 Bududa District): 2,918

Source –