Connect with us


EC Begins Demarcating Parliamentary Constituencies, Local Government Electoral Areas



The Electoral Commission has begun the exercise of demarcating parliamentary constituencies and Local Government electoral areas for the 2020/2021 general elections.

Parliament, on July 30, 2020, prescribed that the number of directly elected members of the 11th Parliament will be 353, hence constituencies for purposes of 2020/21 elections.

According to the statement issued by Electoral Commission chairman Justice Simon Byabakama, the exercise will begin on Monday August 31, 2020 and will last for 5 days.

“Accordingly, as part of the preparations for the conduct of the 2020/2021 general elections, and in accordance with article 63(2) of the Constitution, the Electoral Commission will be  commencing Monday 31st August 2020 until Friday 4th  September 2020, conduct field activities for the purpose of demarcating the above constituencies,” said Byabakama.

The activities will involve conducting meetings with stakeholders in each district to confirm administrative units that constitute the counties, city divisions, municipalities and defining boundaries of these units.

This, Byabakama said will form the primary data for the demarcation of 353 parliamentary constituencies.

“During the above period, the Electoral Commission will also conduct the demarcation of Local Government electoral areas and re-organisation of polling stations in the affected parishes/ wards in the 180 newly created Town councils and sub counties which are located in various parts of the country and were created after the general demarcation and reorganisation exercises which were conducted in September 2019,” Byabakama noted.

The purpose of demarcation of Local Government electoral areas he said is to absorb the above new creations in the general elections 2020/21.

He added that the demarcation will also enable the Electoral Commission to clearly define and advise political parties and organisations and other stakeholders on the areas of representation for directly elected councillors and women councillors in the affected Town councils and sub counties.

Source –