Connect with us


New Dates Set for NRM Primaries



The National Resistance Movement (NRM) Electoral Commission has released an amended program for nomination and election dates for candidates intending to hold the party flag in the forthcoming elections.

This is the second time the party is making amendments in the electoral road map

Dr Tanga Odoi the commission chairperson yesterday asked all aspirants to abide by the new changes.

“In the first road map, the Members of Parliament were supposed to be elected after the election of councillors for LC5 and LC3 chairpersons and councillors but we have made some slight changes.” He said.

The Elections of Members of Parliament for constituency and Woman MP have been moved backward from 10th September to 4th September 2020 while the new date for special interest Members of Parliament is 10th October 2020.

The Election of LC5 chairpersons, City Lord Mayors, City Mayors and directed elected Members of Parliament, city Councillor and directly elected councillors is 11th September 2020.

Election of Municipality Mayors, City Division Mayors, directly elected councillors has been fixed on 14th September 2020

“Recently the National Electoral Commison created new town Councils and sub counties. Those interested should pay immediately the required amount at district headquarters because their elections will be held on 16th September 2020.”

Source –